Sweet Potato Chili

When my house is 79 degrees, there’s nothing I want more than to sit down to a steaming bowl of chili with the evening sun glaring through the open door and into the right side of my face.

That’s a flat-out lie. But I did it anyway. And enjoyed it. Mostly because our whole family was gathered around the table together. That’s turning into more and more of a treat as our children get older and our lives get busier. There’s no guarantee that we’ll get more than one family meal a week. So I’ve been trying to take advantage of the evenings we do have.

Usually “taking advantage of those evenings” means making sure I get my afternoon coffee and/or a nap before they get home from school so tired grouchy mom doesn’t ruin the atmosphere. Caffeine and sleep can go a long way towards good family health.

This was delicious. Really, it was a pretty basic chili recipe with the addition of diced sweet potatoes and sliced red and green peppers – also black beans, garbanzo beans and kidney beans (I used pinto. I still haven’t grown up enough to appreciate a kidney bean.)

The name Sweet Potato Chili is a tiny bit deceptive, because the sweet potatoes aren’t really a stand-out ingredient. The sliced peppers were the most obvious ingredient. But I liked knowing the sweet potatoes were there.

Normally I’d just serve chili with tortillas chips, some toppings, and raw veggies. But I found this cauliflower recipe that you oven-roast in a cast iron skillet that I’ve been itching to make.  And with peppers in the chili, I wasn’t sure Wesley would eat enough to get full, but cooked cauliflower is always a safe bet with him. So I threw cauliflower into the chili meal. It turned out to be a good combination.

So… two new recipes in one night and they were both winners! And now the sun has gone behind the hill and my house is cooling down. Perfect spring evening.

What we ate:
Sweet Potato Chili
Whole Roasted Cauliflower
Tortilla Chips
Cheese, Sour Cream & Cilantro
Baby Carrots and Yellow Pepper Strips

Leave a Reply

